This is what is wrong with Triberr

What Could be Wrong with Binding Together?

It has been heralded as the great equalizer. Suddenly people with only modestly very high Klout can compete with the Big Dogs of social media by banding together in a tight circle of pre-approved curated blogging. Which is to say, we will all auto-tweet each other’s blog posts to our own followers. Suddenly, not only is my “check my post out” reach isn’t constrained by what meager following I might have, but amplified by to all those follower numbers in my circle. Banded together, we become a composite “impression” force.

This is what is wrong with Triberr. In a social realm, all we have is our reputation. But there are two kinds of reputations at play. There is a kind of “authenticity” reputation which is the real response I produce when my avi pic and tweets appear in the stream. It is the impression of my brand, so to speak. We want a high authenticity mark each and every time our profile floats by in the stream. This could be based in anything from our profile picture that has an immediate emotive effect, to the history of our past interactions, or the quality of our tweets. But there is a second, often competing reputation, and that is the reputation we have with other tweeters like us. There is tendency to need “status” and to mix with people of a perceived high class. This second kind of reputation can color the first, our group status can influence how people perceive our flash appearance, but the two are very different. The problem with Triberr is that it can significantly reduces the first kind of reputation (the reputation of authenticity) for the sake of the second.

This is my visceral experience when I see Triberr auto-tweet recommendations of others in their circle. These are often people that actually have a very high personal reputation with me. Lots of my best Twitter friends are in Triberr circles, in fact this post came from seriously considering the generous offer from someone I value. Through personal interaction I have come to both like and respect my friends in Triberr. But, and this is a big but, when that friendly face appears there, and I am draw to it for a micro-second, awash with a warm instinctive response of nonjudgmental embrace, I am suddenly dashed by the realization that this person is not there tweeting this. In fact, there is strong suspicion that this person has not even read the blog post being tweeted to her or his waiting followers. There is, and I can feel it, a devaluation of that person’s brand. Not because I don’t like them, or even respect them. It is because they are offering me under the guise of a social moment, a canned, impersonal communication about something that should otherwise be valued – a blog post. Over time I start to grow insensitive to this person’s tweets. I become conditioned to expect the commercial. The value this person worked hard, or even not so hard, to achieve with me such that in the stream I pick them out with confidence, is eroding tweet by tweet.

“Like tears…in rain”

Twitter is like this. No tweet generally matters. They are light. They nothing. Except in cases of close social interaction they just seem to vanish. But they add up. Over time the direction of their effect begins to accumulate. Either you are building value micro-tweet-moment by micro-tweet-moment, or you are eroding it. The problem with Triberr is that it is a systematic erosion of social value, quietly over time, traded for a status achieved within a tribe whose doors are closed. Everyone in the tribe cannot feel this because they have already established their affinity and respect for each other. The tribe contact just builds as everyone exports each other’s blog post titles to higher impression numbers. But Twitter is not insular. The reputation gained between us is at the expense of the value of your tweet themselves.

The hope of course is that in trade-off of the gradual devaluation of tweet recommendations among those that already follow you, and respect you, you instead are reaching people you could never have reached before. Triberr proudly calls itself “The Reach Multipler” as if it is some kind of reach machine. Suddenly your follower numbers are climbing. Your mentions are rising as is your Klout (!). These new people hopefully at some reasonable conversion percentage, will supplement the value you have lost elsewhere, but invisibly.

What is wrong with Triberr is that the important reputation, the reputation for genuine thought and engagement, is being traded in for the illusion of engagement. If six people tweet out my blog title I must REALLY be engaged, right!? Not at all. And over time people can tell. As I said I have people I really like in Triberr. But when I see their titles mutually flowing across my screen in auto-fashion, I have absolutely zero impulse to actually click on a blog title link. Zero impulse to read, or comment on what lay behind the systematic trolling for new followers.

I also have close people who I would in advance pretty much say that I would recommend their blog posts. @67tallchris, @ricdragon, @pegfitzpatrick are some. I stand by my friends, so I can see exactly what such an agreement seems perfectly reasonable to do. I would be just automatically doing what I would likely want to do anyways. But there is a huge difference. The value of my tweets to the people that follow me is – hopefully – that I have however fleetingly engaged with the material. My curation is a expression of the social capital I have established in piece by piece interactions. It is hand built. If I start systematically placing low-value, socially imitative tweets in my stream, I am working against myself. I am exchanging the coin that you and I have earned together for the chance to begin new connections with those I have not yet met. I am lowering the overall substance of my exchange, for numbers.

I have news, you already have enough followers! Do more with what you have, don’t trade “up” fast using the social currency of authenticity for the “stamp” of authenticity and lose something genuine. I know this won’t stop. The status gain and the number love is big in social media marketing circles. But at least it is worth saying.

Yesterday’s post likely contains some of the deeper reasoning against Impression-driven “reach” social media thinking.

39 thoughts on “This is what is wrong with Triberr

  1. I haven’t tried Triberr. I can’t really say why, there was just something about it, which didn’t ring true. You have eloquently explained what I was feeling, but could not put my finger on.

    I have the same ‘losing of respect’ for people who have ‘Will Follow Back’ in their bio. They just don’t seem to understand the social aspect of social media.

    • Wow. Thanks Brian. Me too. This post came out of a very generous offer to join a Triberr group with someone who has made very good success with it. I was torn between my natural friendship and this other “can’t put my finger on it” quality. As I thought about it, and as I watched the robot tweets of quite a few of my friends, I realized that this small thing actually is a really big thing. I also felt that people just were not in a position to notice it. Hence the post.

  2. I enjoy vigorous dialogues such as this about when social media is at-its-best, and when we must keep a watchful eye on ourselves.

    I sometimes see discussions happen on Twitter when misunderstandings occur; I believe, in large part because of brain-style differences:

    ~ everyone has different relational needs
    ~ each of us processes information differently
    ~ some people are organically introverts, others extroverts
    ~ many people are reading in a language that is not their first-language
    ~ some people are depth-readers, others can only read by skimming

    therefore, what sits right with one person, may not sit right with another — yet everyone is in integrity.

    for me, I do not mind scheduled tweets; particularly with time-zone differences, I find them handy. I like learning of my friends latest blog posts this way. Of course, 100 a day would be too many! But within reason, I find it convenient.

    I have to stop using the Triberr tool, simply because I don’t have the time right now to learn how to use it properly. I think the idea behind it is solid; it’s still a relatively new app, so I expect it to evolve and improve, and I respect Dino for being bold, extending himself, taking a risk, being an entrepreneur, trying something new.

    I watch a little television each night after dinner. It helps me unwind and relaxes my brain. I like comedies! TV is almost an all-broadcast medium, so in that case, I still participate a bit in the “broadcasting” paradigm. On the other hand, I don’t follow blogs that don’t have comments sections (even bloggers who I respect and believe to be brilliant). If I can’t have an easy discussion with a blogger, and I’d just rather watch television. So, I guess, everybody has their own inner-rules for proper engagement. What’s more complicated, is that my own inner-rules are always changing! (partly because I’m often experimenting with new methods and tools, such as Triberr)

    • It is not just about misunderstandings I think Dane. It is about a division within the conception of what social media marketing is, and how to conduct it. It is also about how success in social media is analyzed. I talk about this in my previous post: http://bit.ly/mrL17I – The issue is how we “immunize” our followers to our message without realize it. Because our social circle consists mostly of those we already know, and whom we largely pat on the back all day long, and then many pro forma interactions with new people, we actually can have a very poor reading of how our “brand” is playing in the most important group of our readership, and those are of the quality people that are not yet in our close circle, in our close conversations. THAT is the value group. To over time degrading your ability to engage this in-between zone (with robot tweets), for the sake of glory numbers, and Twitter community status I believe is a Twitter mistake, and it goes to the root of how social media itself is selling itself to business.

  3. Food for thought indeed! IMHO for an organization/group or business purposes Triberr is a great tool. On a personal level you make an excellent point. Triberr does however allow you to manually post. So you CAN indeed read and approve the blogs you tweet. In addition triberr is equivalent to having a trusted author and buying their books without even reading the preview. – Create a trusted tribe of quality bloggers and you have yourself a winner.

    • Natasha, I completely agree that there is huge difference between an org or a company using auto-tweeting, and person. There simply is a different standard of engagement between the two. I don’t agree that (personal Triberr) it is like having a trusted author and buy their books. It is more like buying all the books that your favorite author reads, and having your favorite author send you auto emails about them all the time.It can work like that, but it isn’t the main way an author should relate to readers (I believe.)

  4. Kevin – you and I have discussed this at length. I want to be the first to pay my respect to your opinion and purist approach as it pertains to the interwebs. I am a born again capitalist and I believe most people are in SM with an agenda. Whether it is like yours to be pure engagement or it is like some of the big hitters whom are there to broadcast.
    Like everything in life, balance is the key to success.
    Amazingly, I can disagree with someone on most things and still respect them. It is an amazing virtue, but it allows me to have many perspectives.
    Thanks as always for the thoughtful share.

    • Thanks for your thoughts. But seeking some coherence, how do you reconcile these two Dan?:

      “I am a born again capitalist”

      and,

      “Like everything in life, balance is the key to success.”

      I’m very much pro businesses (capitalism). But born-agains anything are not really about seeking balance.;)

      • Kevin – Born Again Capitalism is a concept – read into it – not the same as the religion.
        The coherence is there.

        Since you are concerned about Triberr users and others (like myself) that “Suck” at Social Media and the collateral damage that we are causing ourselves and Social Media in general…

        I will quickly digress to a simple yet provocative anecdote.

        It is often those with the agenda not to pass judgement that end up busiest passing judgement.

        • Dan, I have no idea what you are talking about with “not passing judgment”. Critical engagement is all about making judgments and then justifying them to others.By judging, not silently but openly, and then explaining our judgments, we start to have conversations about values, the things that really matter. We don’t have to end up agreeing, but open judgment and conversation about it is what it is all about.

  5. Hi Kevin,

    So , this is what would happen with this post if you were inside Triberr.

    Your tribesmates would stagger the tweeting of this post to their followers in 40-60 minute intervals.

    This is what happened to this post without Triberr:

    Every single one of these status updates in your twitter timeline is a link to this post. Thats 10 tweets of you promoting your post within a 4 hour period.

    Not only is this exhausting work and most people have better things to do with their lives, but its also self-promotional and annoying. If your tribe would have tweeted it to their followers on a staggered time interval, I think you would see lot more traction and wouldnt come off as a self promoter.

    Enjoy

    • It may be “exhausting” work to you (co-founder of Triberr), but actually each and everyone of those tweets was a REAL attempt by me to engage and find substantive connection. What you missed in your Twitter Search is that most of these Tweets were right in a middle of an actual Twitter conversation about Triberr on #usguys (note the hashtag). The “most people have better things to do with their lives” is for those who don’t understand what social media building is. Each tweet was making myself available for a conversation, a connection, whether they wanted to just tweet me back (like Brian did), or re-comment on the blog. The method of idea sharing on Twitter is exactly how this previous post – http://bit.ly/js2IUc – received very substantive discussion on a real issue, go ahead click on it, read the comments – a discussion that lead to @ricdragon producing a fine post (who is on Triberr), and 3 more posts by me that followed. The result?…opening up a conversation on how a radical change in how social media marketing can be done. For those who may find actually reading posts, commenting on them and recommending them tiresome I certainly could see how you may have better things to do with your time. It was humorous yesterday when you “fake” read a post of mine and told me how “great”it was having not read it really at all. But I believe that that is the key to social media building instead of just impression building, and Klout hunting. It is finding the game-changing conversations, the ones that steer the whole campaign, the whole business into a different direction.

      If instead I was merely a Triberrer, and got into the habit of just throwing up SEO blog post titles that produced almost no real challenging engagement, none of the discussion and social ties that resulted from this series (still growing) would have happened. In fact you yourself Dino would not be here. Instead my six friends would simply have roboted my post title to people who absolutely don’t care, and I would look on my @Crowdbooster at the end of the week and see that I had “reached” 1000s of people. I would have thought to myself with almost zero comments of substance, “Gee, that was a good post!” I should use “Triberr” in post titles more often.

      Which social media world do I want to live in? The one where “I have better things to do with my life” or one where I find real conversations that change everything?

      • Nothing inside Triberr prevents you from engaging. In fact, it opens you up for more engagement. But I see that you’re not a fan, and thats ok.

        I will address the issue of me “fake reading” you post because you seam to be hung up on it.

        Your post was mostly an excerpt from Gladwell’s Tipping Point. How that answer the questions I asked (are you a data/numbers guy?) Im not sure. The rest was hard to read, small letters, long paragraphs, poorly structured, with bad grammar (and Im not even a stickler for correct grammar and spelling).

        So forgive me if I wanted to offer some encouragement by saying that it was “great”.

        Also, you clearly get off on attention, so I will stop engaging with you and this will be the last time you hear from me. Enjoy and good luck with everything.

        • I guess you did not read the entire blog post. It was not mostly a Gladwell quote. What followed the quote was an explicit answer to the value of Impression numbers on Twitter, and the problem of producing message immunization. The post you “fake” read (calling my post great), actually is the foundation of this post on Triberr. The problem with Triberr is that it produces message immunization without the people in Triberr realizing it because they are staring at “reach” numbers. I thought the connection between the two posts was pretty clear.

          As for the “attention”, the whole point is to have substantive discussion about the state of social media marketing. I think some confuse “attention” with “engagement”. I take the time to actually tweet out discussion from blog posts in order to achieve the latter, not the former. The people that follow me and engage me know this.

      • Kevin, I applaud you for this reply right here. And I’m sorry I didn’t see this blog before. You make a valid point. I want a social media world where I have real conversations from my blog and within my social media platforms that do change everything, lead to real connections. I’ve been on Triberr and lately, I had second thoughts due to the lack of customer service as well as the traction I’ve seen from the reach. I have had more interactions by merely mentioning my blog within my own circles/platforms than from the tribes I’m involved with, however, I’ve had great connections with some of the tribe members. To me, Triberr has been too busy making changes their site, changing the look of their links and not concerned with those who are a part of the community. Thanks, Kevin. I value your thoughts, your engagement and I will continue to support your involvement. Cheers!

  6. I agree with Daniel, that most serious people involved in SM have an agenda. Most of the people who try to ‘Cheat’ by automating, ‘Follow Me & I’ll Follow You’, and other tricks, are little more than spammers. I have a rule, if the Listed:Follower ratio is lower than 5%, I block them as a new follower, if it is less than 1%, I ‘Block & Report Spam’ and then tell my followers to block them too.

    Social Media requires work. If a person is fake RTing something they haven’t read, then I am confident they will fail.

    • But Brian, of course I have an agenda. I Direct social media. But my agenda (and my philosophy) involves protecting social media values, as I perceive them. I am of the perhaps minority opinion that the best “business” strategy on social media is one that pursues authenticity of communication, moving towards deeper and better conversations – not shallower and wider. The strategy may different for companies though where the standard of engagement is different.

      I like your Follow me “rules”. For instance, one of my un-written but much tweeted rules is that if you have +10K followers I hold a much higher standard for my follow. I simply do not want to be swept up in your “reach machine”. This isn’t to say that +10K Tweeters aren’t good people, but it is to say that generally I have to look much closer. The tweeter that interests me the most actually has 300-800 followers, for they tend to be the most engaged and hungry for conversation.

      Of course my “no +10K follows” rule would be stupid if I was just attempting to build as much “reach” as possible. I’m giving up all that potential that one of these mega Tweeters (there was a 100K guy I just saw in my new followers column) RT’d me a few times, I would be “so engaged” statistically! I just don’t find it that valuable.

      I realize that I am at the edge of a spectrum here, but this is real business strategy, just as much as it is social talk. The question is: How do you brand yourself on Twitter, and what segments of followership are you really going after. In my view giving up some of the quality of your engagements with people who are already in your network waiting to be more deeply connected to, in favor of starting brand new connections at the periphery, just so your stats go up, doesn’t make sense.

  7. Kevin,

    I agree 100% with your 10,000 rule. I do something similar. I check their Klout score, in addition to everything else. I also go deeper into their stream of tweets and sometimes look at the people who are following them. It is much harder for a 10K person to avoid being blocked, than a 300 person, because so many of them have gamed the system.

    My agenda is to meet people, who may want to read one of my Henry Wood Detective Agency novels, once I finally get them up on ereaders and in print. (1st should be up in a couple of weeks) That being said, I rarely tweet about my blog posts. Each day, I put up a new post and only tweet it once. I admit that this may be a poor strategy and I sometimes will tweet other posts. People I respect use a plugin for old tweets and some of them tweet their blog posts multiple times in a day, which is fine. But I have started to check the source from each tweet, and when I see Triberr, I assume it isn’t a REAL recommendation, but a Fake one. I can’t say why, but it does make me shake my head with each one. Though, to date, I haven’t Unfollowed anyone because if it.

    • Brian, It seems we have some common ground in all this. And you may be the first person who actually follows the same +10K followers rule of thumb, at least to such a strong degree. My blogging has been inconsistent. I have blogged to anchor some kind of deeper thought or discussion that often arises from discussion with my #usguys mates, or on some other hashtag chat. I try to bridge the two media when I blog a post because I believe that blogging and Twitter make a natural counter part to each other. Heading over to Twitter to update ppl on a comment thread they are in, when the topic is deep, and taking the conversation back and forth is I believe good policy, for several reasons (not to go into here).

      This post though, and the few before it, have been part of the working towards a consensus in my local social media marketers circle that perhaps social media marketing can be done in a completely new way. The seed post for that was: http://bit.ly/js2IUc referred to above. I just don’t want conversation. I want to see if we can change things. Find a new way of doing social media. For that reason this blog is starting to change. I hope to be bringing more concrete social media conversation about real strategy and real-time examples along the way.

      I appreciate your voice in this. Much to be done.

  8. I am not a teribrr user and will not be one either. Just too many applications that add very little value and some of them even dilute the little value that might be out there.
    Social media marketing is “normal” marketing with a specific type of tools. At the end of the rope, there is a consumer and a producer.
    I like your blog and also the voice of critique. Everything automated is wrong. Perhaps that is why twitter.com hasn’t any automating services. The original thought is to engage and contribute, not automate and not bother!
    Well done,
    Shahram

    • Thanks Shahram. As a fellow #usguys presence, I think we both have solid agreement here. Perhaps it misguided, but the kinds (the quality) of engagements that are available there give clue to the potency of what is possible with attentive and present social media. It is great finding you in the stream. Thanks for coming over and offering your comment as well.

    • Great insights Shahram… there are many tools out there… i guess there are also many different goals for marketing…

      Each biz that has social media efforts.. has too many tools to manage.. and the ROI keep getting smaller from them…

      I’m very passionate for “The original thought is to engage and contribute” this is the basis of relationship building 🙂

      10x,
      Sharel

  9. The whole point is to choose your Tribe wisely. These are people I’ve met in real life, value their content, and would manually share that content every day if I had the time. I chose them because they BRING value to my stream, not take it away.

    Now my feelings on Triberr itself are waning. It started out pretty great, but changes in the last day or two have frustrated me and I’m looking for something else to do the main function of Triberr–bring us together with a place to share our content, in a concise manner. Tribber’s going off on tangents and has “fixed” themselves to where they’re no longer functional for most tribes in order to weed out the deal bloggers.

    I’m all for sharing great content. Can Triberr be abused? Sure, so can every other way to access Twitter that includes any kind of automation and as someone who retweets manually, I appreciate some mechanization so I can really engage with others through FB and Twitter.

    • Hey Connie, Thanks for your thoughts. I can see your positive point. But for me the problem is with the impersonal touch of one’s own tweets. Recommending a blog post is one of the more content focused acts one does on Twitter, imo. Just because you 99% of the time would have recommended it, doesn’t mean doing it in an automatic fashion means the same thing. I greet all of my new followers (that I follow back), but certainly don’t auto-DM them with a sentiment I would otherwise still express. It has something of the same feel for me when I watch my friends, people I respect, “recommend” blog posts in a bot-like way, filling my stream. It honestly *feels* not so good.

      I’m not familiar with the changes you are mentioning about Triberr, would love to hear about them.

  10. This quote rings the truest for me, “I become conditioned to expect the commercial.” The other day I retweeted something and I thought it was great information. I only read the first page. Then as I continued reading they wanted my email address and everything else. I felt bad about tweeting that type of stuff. I didn’t want people to think that I would retweet information that came at a cost. I also thought I found a program that would give me free iPhoto type images. I did the download and it took forever. I deleted that tweet after I posted it because it was inconvenient for me. I don’t want others to be just as annoyed as I was.

    • Michaela, I do agree. It is the hand-crafted presence that we work for that is ultimately rewarded in follower loyalty, most of the time. The reputation of what is behind a link you forward is something that develops over time. Frankly, another issue with this is the impression that if you don’t have the time/interest to actually read and tweet the blogs of people you supposedly respect enough to have formed a Triberr tribe, then you certainly won’t have enough time or interest to engage substantively with me either.

      What auto-tweets in the stream say to me is: “Attention everyone, I’m too busy, but here is some pre-approved stuff.”

  11. Great discussion kevin… for some reason many ppl like to talk about Triberr… it kind of show the inside of how some marketing tactics work…

    I believe that Tribber is a way for “boardcast marketing”.. another tactic to reach your biz goals… it sometimes needed and sometimes not…

    After each broadcast marketing effort you ask yourself what have i got…i think you got relationships that were build… the tricky part is to identify them and cultivate them… but now we are in direct/personal marketing….

    I think that this is a very important discussion…and thank you for sharing.

    Sharel

  12. It’s unfortunate that sections of this commentary descended into mud-slinging, as I think the original piece and underlying issues are worth discussing.

    At times, Kevin, I think your passionate opinions and desire to engage may come across as confrontational to some who don’t have prior experience interacting with you. I can only say to Dino that not once have I considered Kevin’s requests to be broadcast self-promotion. Every communication resonates with me as a desire to connect and open discussion, which circles back to the original point of the piece.

    I haven’t played inside Triberr as yet, having been put off by the articles I’ve read elsewhere re. difficulty ensuring the content shared is something I would have chosen to tweet out had I read it. I might blanket read my favorite bloggers and those of friends, but whether or not I want to share a piece is a more personal, intangible decision. For that reason, I’d rather not automate my content curation. Scheduled sharing is a different issue, to my mind, as it’s the next step in the process. I’ve decided I want to share but perhaps at a strange time of morning or a period when I’ve tweeted a lot already. In that case, I have no problem recommending it by automation. I can always pick up feedback when I’m next online or further discussion via the blog comments.

    Essentially, I don’t believe one must be ever present on social media to share content. Providing we can continue discussions our sharing raises in reasonable time, I think it makes sense to schedule. But sharing based only on reputation seems too fraught with the possibility of irrelevance. I’d rather see one piece shared that really resonated with someone than many that only come with a vague recommendation. If you want to recommend someone’s overall package, share their site regularly, rather than every piece of work. We can then browse recommended blogs at our leisure and subscribe if it connects well.

    Thanks for the opinions, Kevin. Look forward to seeing how this develops.

    • Steve,

      I really like your reply because we don’t agree on everything. I hold a harder line on scheduled tweets (for persons), but definitely see where you are coming from. This kind of 80% overlap is where perhaps the greatest conversation can occur, instead of with entire agreement. I also like all your recommendations about how to recommend. The bigger picture or issue though is that people who are loving Triberr are not loving it because it is a much easier way to recommend. They are loving it because they can automate their “reach”. They can depersonally personalize communications and “pretend” social to some degree (sharing content that you find interesting or of value is a personal engagement on Twitter), so that they have more time to do other things. If they can keep recruiting in a machine-like way, their base just keeps growing (along with their follower numbers, Klout and social status on the medium). They trust that they can manage the real social work with this added time.

      The problem, as I see it, is that this isn’t what happens, often. We all have our takes on how social media is best done, that is for sure. But there is something to the principle of “fire size” that seems wrong here. People are focused on building bigger and bigger social camp fires.

  13. Although this is is obviously not a simple subject, there is one simple term that will determine if Triberr –or any other tool for that matter– will work for you: purpose.

    Let’s look at it this way: Coca Cola pays ad money to several different networks because its purpose is to broadcast a message pertaining their products. Each network’s following helps Coca Cola amplify the message delivery. I don’t see Coca Cola losing any of its brand value because of this.

    In the same spirit (and looking at it from the perspective of someone who doesn’t use the tool), Triberr helps broadcast people’s blogs through these networks (or circles or Tweeps or whatever you wanna call them) because they chose to do so according to their purpose. They want to get the message out there and Triberr helps them reach a broader audience. Is that wrong? I don’t think so. Neither do I think that it dilutes any brand involved in the sharing.

    As in all types of broadcast there are risks/benefits that each individual/biz must assess, and if one tool is right for you, go ahead, give it a whirl. If it isn’t, then don’t use it, but I wouldn’t be as quick as to say ‘there’s something wrong with it’ just because it’s not my cup of tea and doesn’t align with my biz/personal objectives.

    • Juan, Great counterpoints. I guess it goes (as I expressed in Twitter stream) to the kind of performative contradiction involved in using a social media tool to broadcast “Social Media is not Broadcast!” type message, and that in social media there are different standards engagement of expected of companies and persons.

      Also, part of my difficulty, or at least a purpose to my post was that people may not be aware of just how Triberr makes our streams look because mostly we don’t monitor our own streams. As I watched the streams of my friends and saw how depersonalize their messages were, it made me think that this really isn’t how I want my stream to appear. Maybe they don’t care, that would be okay if that is the case. But maybe they don’t even know. As part of this discussion for instance @ricdragon mentioned that he probably should change to the Triberr manual mode, a consideration which in itself seems to count as a good thing.

  14. Kevin I really respect what you’ve done here with your blog and the discussion. It’s been extremely insightful and followers / retweeting and social authenticity is something I’ve always thought about, often enviously when looking at profiles with thousands of follower, but was not sophisticated enough to delve into.

    Kudos for taking a stand and shedding some light into what’s actually going on. This entire conversation is an example of a real, authentic tribe.

    • Thanks Andrew, great to have your view. Glad that the theme of social investing in recommendations resonates with you. The mad chase to impression numbers seems to be on. All we can do is at least raise the specter of what this means, in terms of both efficacy and value.

  15. I am so late to this post. But I saw something about it on Twitter so I clicked to Tribberr (and what is with the weird spelling? ) and ‘applied’ (which annoyed the crap out of me actually) and then I received an impersonal and GROUP tweet (had other people on the tweet) saying I had to CALL them before I was allowed to join tribberr. I cracked up.

    Um, THATS okay. I don’t want to be in your little gang anyway. 🙂

    • wow Marcy, I cannot believe that they didn’t target you full time. lol. I think you are a powerful enough and committed enough social media person you could possibly overcome all the pitfalls that I outline above, if you wanted to. Perhaps it would be a boon. You are so smart and sharp, you might make use of the tool. It just cuts hard against the grain of what social media is to me, and at large it seems to be having a distortive effect on Twitter on blogging in general. So I guess, in my heart I’m glad that one of my favorite social media people is not using Triberr.

  16. Pingback: The Benefits of Triberr - 312 Digital | 312 Digital

  17. Pingback: customfanpagesetup.com | 46 Brilliant Bloggers Talk About Triberr

Leave a Reply

